The molecular nanotechnology, even though recognized by other people to be effective, seems to be vulnerable in several ways. The devices which are made from nanotechnology have shown lots of vulnerabilities in many ways which need to be fixed for their effectiveness. There have been a lot of debates of whether or not such devices are of the quality they should be.

A lot of questions have been raised without answers. However, for individuals with a constructive mind, it would be sure that the devices are facing a bit of issue which does not need debates but a quick solution. Some of the significant problems which are evident with the nanoscale devices today include:

1.    Thermal Noise, Tolerance, and Brownian Motion

At the room temperatures of nanoscale, Brownian movement as well as thermal sound depicts the fact that parts of a device are continually flexing and reducing in size, hence worsening the active thermal tolerance as compared to the mechanical understanding which mots of in the people tend to rely on in the field of microscopy engineering and technology.

The problem, therefore, arises in that the paradigm of mechanical engineering tends to underlies the MNT will depend on the close dimensional tolerance. Therefore, to solve this problem, there is a need to use stiff elements and materials such as diamond.

2.    Dissipation of Energy and Friction

With the reduction in the size of mechanisms, the relative amount of interfacial area gets larger hence making the surface forces of the devices to be stronger. By attempting to shrink the MEMS towards the nanoscale, the mixture of the irreversible sticking and friction makes most of the tools to fail. In this case, again, the use of diamond elements would assist in eradicating the issue.

This is because the clean diamond surface friction tends to be lower and non-reactive as that in the molecular nanoscale. Following the perfection of atomic using such materials, it is possible to for the issues not to be realized in MNT systems.

Diamond also becomes a perfect replacement in this case since its friction properties are already understood as compared to that of nanoscale. Even in case of low friction levels in the devices, there are still issues with operations compromises. This is because they tend to generate high local heating levels, which results in matters related to chemical stability.

3.    Design for a Motor

Most of the nanoscale, on the one hand, requires a bit of source of power to work. The design of electrostatic motor in Drexler’s nanosystems combined with some estimates of the performance tends to make people convinced in such devices.

However, the design here tends to be more ingenious in terms of its concept. It works backward with the principle of the van der Graaf generator. The issue, therefore, lies in the fact that only a more comprehensive outline of this design is issued in the nanoscale devices. With a thought of its building, a lot of issues even come up.

Therefore, to eradicate this issue, there is a need for specifying the materials to be used. There is also a need to test the chemical stability of the structure that results from the process. The problem here is complicated to handle since almost all the metallic materials used in this case would lead to severe issues of surface stability.

To avoid instant failures in the devices due to adhesion of the surfaces which are contracting, the electronic contact should be made through electron tunneling instead of the direct physical contact.

4.    The Eutatic Environment  and the Feed through Issues

The operations of the nanoscale devices, especially the MNT, occur in an environment which is wholly controlled and sealed from the external viewers. The setting is often referred to as the eutatic environment, which happens for good reasons and in the process leads to issues with the functionality of the devices.

The availability of uncontrolled mechanochemistry often leads to chemical damages, which are irreversible to the mechanisms of the tools. The MNT requires an extremely ultra-high vacuum for it to function.

However, it should be noted that for the device to be useful enough as it should be, it requires an open place and interaction with the rest of the world. For instance, a medical nanoscale device needs to be found in a bodily fluid with other heterogeneous media. Therefore, it is a challenge putting such equipment in an enclosed environment where they cannot access the outside world.

The Bottom Line

While it is true that all the nanoscale devices are useful as they are made to, they have the above challenges which often affect their workability. Therefore, there is an urgent need for innovative bodies to conduct lots of research concerning the workability and makeup of the devices. This would help in improving the functioning of such machines, right from the way they are structured.